• Call to Action: Save Triumph Funding

    • Share:
    April 14, 2017
    As you know, in 2013, the Florida Legislature created Triumph Gulf Coast, a nonprofit corporation to administer the funds as a result of the BP settlement from Deepwater Horizon.  Triumph funding was to be used for programs and projects that encourage economic recovery in the eight Northwest Florida coastal counties.  There are two bills in the Florida Legislature relating to the management of these Triumph funds.
     
    The Destin Chamber of Commerce has taken a position of opposition to House Bill 7077 and Senate Bill 364, the respective bills that determine how Triumph funds can be used.  Our opposition to these bills is simple - they eliminate the use of these funds for economic development, tourism marketing and eliminate TDC's/CVB's and chambers of commerce from receiving any funds to assist in those efforts.  We feel the funding from Triumph should be managed by the local communities, not by the state legislature.
     
    We are calling on you, our members, to email your legislators and tell them that you, too, oppose these bills.  Here are some talking points for you.
    • Triumph was created for local communities to assist them with economic recovery for the damage done by the BP oil spill in 2010. Local communities should decide how the money is used, not the state legislature.
    • We learned from the oil spill that our economy must be diversified and more high-skill, high-wage jobs must be created so that we are not so reliant on tourism dollars to drive our economy.
    • Of all industries in Florida, the one most damaged was tourism. Local communities should be allowed to use some of these funds to market our area and improve tourism so that our economy does not falter.
    • Using Triumph funding for educational and workforce development and training programs is essential for improving our quality of place and quality of life.
    • Preventing monies from Triumph to be used for the very purposes Triumph was created is detrimental to our livelihood in Northwest Florida.
     
    Here is the contact information for the elected officials who need to hear from you:
    Governor Rick Scott, rick.scott@eog.myflorida.com 
    Senate President Joe Negron, negron.joe@flsenate.gov
    Speaker of the House Richard Corcoran, richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov
    Senator George Gainer, gainer.george@flsenate.gov
    Senator Doug Broxson, broxson.doug@flsenate.gov
    Representative Mel Ponder, mel.ponder@myfloridahouse.gov
    Representative Brad Drake, brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov
    Representative Jay Trumbull, jay.trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov
    Representative Clay Ingram, clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
     
    Thank you for contacting these representatives and supporting our position.  Working together is how the Destin Chamber continues to advocate for businesses and strengthen our community!
     
    With wishes for continued success, 
     
    Shane Moody's signature
     




    Shane A. Moody, CCE, FCCP
    President and CEO
  • Upcoming Events

  • Featured Partners