• Destin Chamber Reveals New Logo & Kicks Off 50th Anniversary Year at Annual Banquet

    • Share:
    January 18, 2016
    Destin, Fla., Jan. 18 The Destin Chamber has a new look! On Friday, Jan. 15, during its Annual Awards & Installation Banquet, the Chamber unveiled its new logo.

    “I think the new logo certainly reflects what we want to project as our brand.  We’ve captured the tourism component with the waves and colors, but we also captured a growing business community and growing economy with the waves growing from small to large and growing higher.  It’s clean, it’s fresh, it’s iconic.  It’s something our Board is proud of, and we know our members are as well,” explained Chamber President and CEO Shane Moody, CCE, FCCP.

    FNBT Bank    Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park
     The event also kicked off the Chamber’s 50th anniversary year, which included recognition of two members, FNBT Bank (left) and Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park (right), who have been members since 1966, the year the Chamber was established.

    More than 200 Chamber members gathered at the Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village to witness the festivities, which included the presentation of annual awards and installation of 2016 officers and board of directors.

    Julie Cotton - Northwest Florida State College
    Outgoing Chamber Chairman Ken Wampler (right), Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc., presented the awards. Julie Cotton (left), Northwest Florida State College, received the James D. Neilson, Sr., Chairman’s Award for Volunteer Service.
    “Our winner has always been there for advice, guidance, direction, and simple, even-keeled decision making,” explained Wampler. “She has shown a true passion for the Destin Chamber.”

    Kathy and Ken Whidden - Emerald Coast Chiropractic
    Kathy (left) and Ken Whidden (right) of Emerald Coast Chiropractic received the Business Person of the Year Award.

    In presenting the award, Wampler read from the nomination form: The Whiddens “are an outstanding example of local business owners, active community service volunteers, and civic volunteers. They have run a growing local business for over 14 years, contribute to various charitable organizations, and lead by example in encouraging others to also contribute time and talent whenever possible.”

    Jeanne Dailey - Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc.
    Jeanne Dailey (left), Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc., received the Ann Gibson Community Service Award.

    “There isn’t much that’s happened in the Destin community over the past couple of decades in which this year’s winner has not been a part – beach restoration, formation and leadership of Citizens for Good Leadership, the Destin Chamber, the United Way, Rotary, the TDCs of Okaloosa and Walton counties, the Destin Charity Wine Auction,” said Wampler.

    Bill Head
    For the third straight year, the winner of the Paul Woolman (right) Ambassador of the Year Award was Bill Head (left), for his untiring service to the Chamber and its Ambassador Program.

    Outgoing Board members recognized with a plaque for their service included Steve Jay, Warren Averett; Jami Jones, Big Red Truck; Karen McCarthy, Army Aviation Center Federal Credit Union; and Scott Seay, Southern Vacation Rentals.
    Members of the newly installed 2016 Executive Committee include Chairman Jonathan Ochs, Trustmark National Bank; Chairman Elect Lockwood Wernet, Destin Water Users, Inc.; Treasurer Bill Lindsley, SimpleHR; Immediate Past Chair Ken Wampler, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc.; Vice Chairman – Communications & Marketing Michelle Terry, Dale E. Peterson Vacations; Vice Chairman – Community & Economic Development Bob Perry, Destin Commons; and Vice Chairman – Membership Development Fred Fenn, Fenn Properties, LLC.
    Other members of the 2016 Board of Directors include Jeramie Bates, Destin Pointe by Wyndham Vacation Rentals; Kevin Bowyer, Warren Averett; Jason Connor, ValleyCrest Landscape Maintenance, Inc.; Julie Cotton, Northwest Florida State College;  Hayward Dykes, Conerly, Bowman & Dykes, LLP; Rebecca Jones, The Rehabilitation Institute of Northwest Florida/Fort Walton Beach Medical Center; Pam Martin, Gulf Power; Brock Rice, Regions Bank; Most Immediate Past Chairman/Ex-Officio Amy Perry, Pleat, Perry & Ritchie, P.A.; Chairman’s Appointee Steve Barber, Destin VIP Magazine and barber & gall promotions; Chairman’s Appointee Jennifer Lovell, Coastal Bank and Trust; and Special Appointee Kim Wintner, Alliance Association Management Co., Inc.

    For more information and to see photos from the event, please visit https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.912764992154202.1073741956.105008336263209&type=3.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Featured Partners